The Heinlein Society 23rd Annual Meeting of General Membership 10 September 2023, Minutes

Call to Order

- Meeting started 4:08 pm EDT
- Introduction of The Heinlein Society Board, Officers, Committee Members, Board of Advisors
- Timely Notice of Mailing presented
- Initial Business Items: Roll Call of 32 members (appended to minutes), Quorum was met. Parliamentarian accepted as Walt Boyes.
- 2022 Minutes accepted by voice vote.

Officer Reports (President Given after Committes)

Reports of Treasurer, Secretary as in slide deck. (embedded attachment)

Committee Reports:

- The only things different from slide deck were:
- Membership Services: Membership polled regarding size limitation of organization; consensus was not to put a cap on group.
- Scholarship: There was Discussion of AI written papers and disqualifying papers that didn't meet criteria.
- President's Comments: President Tilden commended the volunteers that make this organization work to keep Paying it Forward and was grateful for the honor of serving on the board for over twelve years.

New Business:

• There were no items.

Election Results:

- John Seltzer re-elected. Geo Rule and Jim Dutton newly elected.
- Walt Boyes was re-elected and will fill the one-year remainer of Herb Gilliland's term after his resignation.

Good of the Society/Q&A Open Mic

Raffle Results

Foreign Edition Raffle:

• Winner: Nicole Bourman

Virginia Edition Raffle:

• Winner: Oral Caglar

Adjournment:

- Motion by Walt Boyes, Seconded by Betsey Wilcox
- Passed by Acclamation.
- Adjourned at 5:32 pm EDT

The Society enjoyed casual chat thereafter.

Roll Call/Attendees:

1	Arnin	John	
2	Arpin Berkoff		
		Nancy	Oitte - Ole -in
3	Black	Carlin	Committee Chair
4	Booker	Michael	
5	Boyes	Walt	Board of Directors
6	Davis	Joel S.	Board of Directors
7	Dutton	Jim	Committee Chair
8	Forrester	Vondi	
9	Grigg	John	
10	Hamilton	Will	Committee Chair
11	Hays	Ken	
12	Jost	Randy	
13	Kato	Keith	Committee Chair
14	Kondo	Beatrice	Board of Directors
15	Kurtycz	Daniel	
16	Loeffler	Vincent	
17	Middleton	Graham	
18	Morgan	Lorrita	
19	Nordley	Gerrald D.`	Board of Advisors
20	Parris	Kevin	
21	Rubin	Gary	
22	Rule	Deb Houdek	Committee Chair
23	Rule	Geo	Committee Chair
24	Seltzer	John	Board of Directors
25	Sheffield	Sharon	
26	Sheffield	Mike	Board of Directors
27	Shensky	Muriel	
28	Sobek	James	
29	Tilden	John	Board of Directors
30	Walters	Kenneth	Board of Directors
31	Wilcox	Elizabeth	Board of Directors
32	Willoughby	Deanna	