Robert Heinlein, Virginia Heinlein, Snowy Heinlein Pay Forward the legacy of Robert A. Heinlein --Contribute to The Heinlein Society today! Join the Heinlein Society in paying forward the legacy of Robert A. Heinlein and Virginia Heinlein. Return Home to the Heinlein Society Heinlein Society Recent Updates Go To Centennial Reader


Robert Heinlein

Ginny Heinlein


RAH And Me

Join Us

Pay Annual Dues






Blood Drives


Pirates' Booty

на русском


Contact Us


Heinlein Prize

Readers Group






Writing Contest


Heinlein Society Press Release:


Mr. Larry Niven and Dr. Jerry Pournelle Named Recipients of 2005 Heinlein Award

APRIL 11, 2005

Join us for the 2005 Heinlein Award to be presented to Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle at the annual Heinlein Society Dinner Sunday, September 4, 2005

Make your reservations now!

The Heinlein Society ( announced today that its panel of judges for the Robert A. Heinlein Award for outstanding published work in hard science fiction or technical writings inspiring the human exploration of space has chosen Mr. Larry Niven and Dr. Jerry Pournelle to be the 2005 recipients. The Awards will be presented, in cooperation with Cascadia Con at the Society’s annual banquet to be held on Sunday night at this year’s 8th North America Science Fiction Convention (NASFiC), on September 4, in Seattle, Washington. Both Mr. Niven and Dr. Pournelle plan to attend in person. The Golden Duck Awards and Seiun Awards are also going to be presented at this NASFiC-scheduled banquet by their respective sponsors.


This is the third year that The Heinlein Society has presented its Heinlein Award, with last year’s recipient being Sir Arthur C. Clarke, and the 2003 inaugural recipients being Virginia Heinlein and science fiction author Michael Flynn. The independent panel of judges who selected the 2005 awardees includes Greg Bear, Michael Flynn, Joe Haldeman, Yoji Kondo, Elizabeth Moon, Spider Robinson, Stanley Schmidt, Herb Gilliland, and John Hill. Greg Bear will be Toastmaster for the banquet. For more information on the Heinlein Award and the society’s annual banquet, contact The Heinlein Society at Dinner tickets may be reserved and ordered at Heinlein Award Dinner Reservations.


Niven and Pournelle, beginning in November 1980, along with the late Robert A. Heinlein, served upon the Citizens’ Advisory Council on National Space Policy to the President, which Pournelle chaired and for which Niven hosted meetings. Both have written extensive readable speculative fiction and non-fiction that inspires humanity's expansion into space.


“We are delighted with the selection of Mr. Niven and Dr. Pournelle to receive this year’s Robert A. Heinlein Award,” said Society president David M. Silver, “as they both have consistently written the kind of visionary and readable speculative fiction that Robert Heinlein introduced to the field in 1939. Robert Heinlein called their first collaboration, The Mote in God’s Eye, ‘possibly the finest science fiction I have ever read’.” Silver continued, “We are equally delighted they both will be joining us at this year’s awards banquet in Seattle which will be featured as its Sunday evening program event by Cascadia Con as well.”


Laurence van Cott Niven was born in Los Angeles on April 30, 1938. After studying at California Institute of Technology and Washburn University, Kansas, he completed one year of graduate work in mathematics at UCLA before dropping out to start writing in the 1960s. Larry actively participates in numerous SF conventions, in Boy Scout activities and is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Larry is married to Marilyn ("Fuzzy Pink") Niven and resides in Chatsworth, California.


Jeremia Eugene Pournelle was born on August 7, 1933, in Shreveport, Louisiana. He served in the US Army during the Korean War, receiving a direct commission as a Lieutenant of Artillery in the field in Korea. After Korea, he obtained advanced degrees in psychology, statistics, engineering and political science including two PhDs from the University of Washington. In the 1960s, he served as Executive Assistant to the Mayor for the City of Los Angeles, making use of that experience later when he edited Robert Heinlein's unpublished "How To Be a Politician" which was released as Take Back Your Government! (1992). He is also a noted lecturer, essayist, consultant and advisor, computer columnist, and holds memberships in and has served as a board member to numerous professional space-related organizations. He has served as a past President of the Science Fiction Writers of America. His non-fiction, including book-length collections such as a Step Further Out (1979) are extensive. Jerry is married to Roberta Jane nee Isdell. They have four sons and one daughter and currently reside in Studio City, California.


Larry's first published SF story, "The Coldest Place," appeared in the December 1964. Larry is probably best known for his "Known Space" future history containing over 30 short stories and novels which intermingle into a complex timeline dating from several billion years into prehistory into the future beyond 3200. Perhaps the most famous of the Known Space titles is Ringworld, which earned Larry both the Hugo and the Nebula awards in 1970 and the Australian Ditmar Award in 1972.


Jerry began fiction writing with a non-SF work under a pseudonym in 1965. Some SF novels under his own name include The Endless Frontier (1979), King David's Spaceship (1973), Janissaries (1979), Clan and Crown: Janissaries II (1982) Storms of Victory: Janissaries III (1987), Prince of Mercenaries (1989), Falkenberg's Legion (1990), Prince of Sparta (1993), and Go Tell the Spartans (1991).


In the mid seventies these two Heinlein Award winners first collaborated on The Mote In God's Eye (1974). Its sequel in 1991 was The Gripping Hand. Other collaborations by Jerry and Larry include Inferno (1976), Lucifer's Hammer (1977), Footfall (1985), The Legacy of Heorot (1987), with Steven Barnes, and Fallen Angels (1991), with 2003 Heinlein Award winner Michael Flynn, and The Burning Tower (2005). In 1985, Footfall, in which Robert Heinlein was a thinly veiled character, held the number one spot on the New York Times bestseller list. Another bestseller, Lucifer's Hammer (1977), reached number two. Fallen Angels won the Prometheus Award in 1992 for Best Novel and the Seiun Award (from Japan), for Foreign Novel in 1998.


In 1973, Larry Niven was awarded the Skylark Award, officially the "Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction," given annually by the New England Science Fiction Association, for significant contribution to SF in the spirit of the writer E.E. "Doc" Smith. Jerry Pournelle was the first winner of the John W. Campbell Award in 1974, and won the Evans-Freehafer Award in 1977, and both the "Forrie" and the Inkpot Award in 1979. Both writers have had over a dozen nominations for Nebula and Hugo Awards.


Larry's latest single authored current work available is Ringworld's Children (2004), the fourth installment in the Ringworld Saga. Jerry's and Larry’s latest current co-authored work is The Burning Tower (2005), a sequel to The Burning City (2000).


Jerry Pournelle on the web:


Larry Niven on the web:




David M. Silver President and Chairman of the Board

The Heinlein Society

PO Box 1254

Venice, California 90294-1254


"The Lieutenant expects your names to shine!"

--Robert Anson Heinlein, USNA '29 (1907-88) Lt. (jg) USN, Ret'd

  Join The Heinlein Society and Pay Forward the legacy of Robert A. Heinlein and Virginia Heinlein.

2001-2010 The Heinlein Society
3553 Atlantic Avenue, #341
Long Beach, CA 90807-5606


The Heinlein Society was founded by Virginia Heinlein on behalf of her husband, science fiction author Robert Anson Heinlein, to "pay forward" the legacy of Robert A. Heinlein to future generations of "Heinlein's Children."