Latest News

2014 Worldcon Report | 72nd World Science Fiction, Loncon 3

The 72nd World Science Fiction, Loncon 3, was held August 14-18, 2014, at the ExCel Centre Docklands, London, United Kingdom. The Docklands is a fairly recently developed area, so far removed from London proper that the famous London Underground Tube system does not extend there. A modern above-ground, robotically-controlled Dockland Light Rail train system services…
Read more

A Message From The New President Of The Heinlein Society

Hello, fellow Heinleiners! I am Keith Kato, and at the 15 September 2014 meeting of The Heinlein Society’s Board of Directors, I was honored to be elected the fourth President of the Society. I succeed my good friend Mike Sheffield, who—like Cinncinnatus—could have stayed in office, but relinquished it willingly. Mike decided, after over a…
Read more

Heinlein Society Announces 4th Annual Scholarship Contest

The Heinlein Society is pleased to announce our fourth annual scholarship essay contest for the 2015-2016 academic year. The two $750 scholarships will be awarded to undergraduate students of accredited 4-year colleges and universities majoring in engineering, math, or physical sciences (e.g. physics, chemistry), or in Science Fiction as Literature. Applicants will need to submit…
Read more


The ROBERT A. HEINLEIN 1941 DENVENTION GoH SPEECH is available to Heinlein Society members for donations of $50. Payment can be made via PayPal or by sending a check to the Society at: The Heinlein Society 3553 Atlantic Avenue, #341 Long Beach, CA 90807-5606 This was the third World Science Fiction Convention. It was held…
Read more

THS to Lead Fund Raising for Heinlein Bust at Hall of Famous Missourians

The Board of The Heinlein Society recently agreed to lead efforts to raise funds for a bust (with associated plaque and pedestal) of Robert A. Heinlein to be displayed in the Hall of Famous Missourians maintained at the Missouri capital building by the Missouri state legislature. Heinlein was honored to be included in a public…
Read more

Jack McDevitt to Receive 2015 Heinlein Award

BSFS (Baltimore Science Fiction Society) has announced that Jack McDevitt will be the 2015 recipient of the Heinlein Award, and the 19th honoree since the Award’s inception in 2003. The first recipients were Virginia Heinlein and Michael Flynn. The Heinlein Award was founded by ex-THS board member Dr. Yoji Kondo in 2003 with the blessing…
Read more


The Heinlein 4 Heroes program has shipped a grand total of 6,459 books.  The program has now hit it’s stride and we know we can sustain shipping 3,000 books and 300 shipments per year. Got any old science fiction books?  Ship them to us and we’ll ship them to people from the military who are…
Read more


This thank you came to Heinlein for Heroes today.  Thanks to everyone that is supporting our H4H program. November 28


The total keeps growing.  We now have shipped 5,419 books.  Special thanks to Geo Rule, Vice-President of The Heinlein Society; he has donated 195 Heinlein books. You can donate too; H4H needs science fiction books and takes audio books.  Even if well worn or slightly damaged we’ll take them.


Since the first shipment in November 2013 we have shipped 4,767 science fiction books to the military.  This includes 1,420 mostly hard cover books shipped by The Heinlein Prize Trust.  The Heinlein Society is also pleased to announce the Trust is donating the cost of shipping for the H4H program.  The program is a huge…
Read more


These thank you notes came recently (10-20-2014) as a result of recent mailings of hard covers from THE HEINLEIN TRUST and THE HEINLEIN SOCIETY.

2014 Annual Meeting Materials Posted

Did you miss the Annual Meeting of the Heinlein Society?  You may still review the materials that were presented.  The copy linked in this notice has a little bit more information than previous copies.  2014 Annual Meeting Slides

Instructions for Attending the 2014 Annual Meeting

The Heinlein Society is running its Annual Meeting as a teleconference with online materials for the first time this year.  We will be discussing results of our 2014 work, announce the results of our elections, and briefly talk about our plans for the 2015 year, which officially starts for us September 1st.  While all members are…
Read more

2013 Annual Meeting Minutes Posted

The minutes from The Heinlein Society’s Annual Meeting of the membership held at LoneStarCon3 (WorldCon 71) on September 1, 2013 are posted with this website entry:  THS_2013_AGM_Minutes . These minutes will be reviewed at the 2014 Annual Meeting to be held 9/7/14. (See separate entry with instructions on how to attend the Annual Meeting in 2014).


With the shipment of books going to the VA Hospitals today, the trust has shipped 1,420 H4H books, almost all of them hardbacks, to the the men and women of the armed services.   The books including postage were donated by the TRUST and sent out on behalf of THE HEINLEIN FOR HEROES program.


August 6, 2014 To the Heinlein Society: >             I am writing this letter as an expression of my thanks, for the books you sent to us, the 108th Sustainment Brigade. In the moments of waiting, as are common in military service, the books you sent us provided many hours of entertainment. I specifically enjoyed Heinlein’s…
Read more


As required by Article IV, Section 1, of the Bylaws of The Heinlein Society (PDF file at, the Annual Meeting of the General Membership of The Heinlein Society will convene on Sunday, 7 September 2014, beginning at 1:00 PM Pacific Daylight Time.  If you are in a different time zone, you are encouraged to…
Read more

Scholarship Winners 2014-2015

July 7, 2014 We are pleased to announce the winners of this year’s scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year. This year we received a total of 21 applications from students in 4 countries. The winners are: Skyler Saleebyan – Skyler will be transferring UC Santa Barbara, California this fall as a junior. He completed the first…
Read more

Join the Heinlein Society Now!

We need you to JOIN THE HEINLEIN SOCIETY! We have over 1500 followers on Facebook, and we need you all to become members! And SHARE THIS POST with your friends, encouraging them to become members too. Your $35 yearly membership dues and donations are tax deductible, and go to support and grow our PAY IT…
Read more