http://www.heinleinsociety.org/thsnexus/

SOPA/PIPA Blackout: My Web Sites
http://www.heinleinsociety.org/thsnexus/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1181
Page 1 of 1

Author:  sakeneko [ Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:30 pm ]
Post subject:  SOPA/PIPA Blackout: My Web Sites

Most of my web sites will be blacked out starting 0500 UTC (12:00 midnight EST/9:00 PM Pacific time) as part of the webwide blackout to protest the SOPA/PIPA antipiracy legislation currently under discussion by the U.S. Congress.

The sites to be blacked out include www.ergosphere.net (my personal blog) and mainsleaze.spambouncer.org (the MainSleaze Spam blog).

I've read the current text of both versions of this legislation. It's vile. While I hope that President Obama sticks to his pledge to veto the final bill if its worst provisions are not fixed or removed, and hope that the U.S. House sticks to its plan to table its version til it's fixed, I'm not sure that the legislation can be fixed. I'm also not sure that they'll keep their word.

I'm not Wikipedia or even Boing Boing, but I want to stand up and be heard.

As Ahnold said, "I'll be back" -- at 9:00 PM tomorrow evening.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/